Start player for Always Elvis Radio

News createt: 11-11-2010

Elvis in Finland 2 CD

Bookmark and Share

Press release


Dozens of songs of Elvis Presley’s repertoire have been recorded in Finland from the beginning of the 60’s and up ‘till these days – both in Finnish and in English. This obviously includes many sides of Elvis’s versatile recording career: rock tunes, ballads, country and movie songs.

The new collection “Elvis in Finland 2” starts with a version of That’s All Right, Mama (Kaikki hyvin mama) by a legendary singer Rauli Somerjoki. This song comes from Elvis’s first and Rauli’s last recording session. Probably the most well-known Elvis movie songs in Finland, Flaming Star (titled Kohtalon tähti) and The Walls Have Ears (Seinillä on korvat) are both naturally included on this cd. Early Finnish rock’n’rollers, like Jussi Raittinen, Rock Jerry and Pekka Loukiala, have their own versions on this collection too.

There are also a couple of rarities on the collection. One of them is Summer Kisses, Winter Tears (Kesän suukot talvi vei) which is the only single release by a singer called Richard. Some fine arrangements can be found as well: an a cappella group Veeti And the Velvets delivers a very nice version of King Creole and the late Tapio Heinonen sings beautifully his version of Mary in the Morning (Kaunein aamuisin).

“Elvis Suomessa – in Finland vol. 2” celebrates the 25th Anniversary Year of The Official Elvis Presley Fan Club of Finland.

Cd includes the following songs in English: Baby Let’s Play House, My Baby Left Me, Don’t Be Cruel, King Creole, Suspicion, Return to Sender and All That I Am.

1. Kaikki hyvin mama (That's All Right) - Rauli Badding Somerjoki

2. Just siks (Just Because) - Tuomari Nurmio ja Köyhien ystävät

3. Baby Let's Play House - Jussi Raittinen

4. Särkyneen sydämen hotelli (Heartbreak Hotel) - Dick Dynamite

5. Tanssikengät (Blue Suede Shoes) - Jari Lampinen

6. My Baby Left Me - Rock Jerry

7. Don't Be Cruel - Pave Maijanen

8. King Creole - Veeti & The Velvets

9. Loputon blues (A Mess of Blues) - Topi Sorsakoski

10. Kohtalon tähti (Flaming Star) - Timo Jämsen

11. Kesän suukot talvi vei (Summer Kisses, Winter Tears) - Richard

12. Kappelin kellot (Crying in the Chapel) - Pekka Loukiala

13. Mä eroon pääse en (Gonna Get Back Home Somehow) - Danny

14. Suspicion - Freddie Falcon

15. Return to Sender - Cisse Häkkinen

16. Seinillä on korvat (The Walls Have Ears) - Eino Grön

17. En peittää voi (Tender Feeling) - Rock Ola

18. All That I Am - Salomon

19. Epäilet vain (Suspicious Minds) - Eero Raittinen

20. Ei hassumpaa (Sweet Caroline) - Keijo Minerva

21. Sä ihmeitä teet (The Wonder of You) - Arto Sotavalta

22. Kaunein aamuisin (Mary in the Morning) - Tapio Heinonen

23. Aamuöiseen sateeseen (Early Mornin' Rain) - Paavo ja Zephyr

24. Polttava rakkaus (Burning Love) - Eero Aven

25. Moody Blue - Juhamatti

26. Bonusraita: Pois (Don't) - Frederik