Start player for Always Elvis Radio

News createt: 29-11-2010

In the Heart of Georgia - To be released

Bookmark and Share


12 years after the first release of this show, Audionics delivers a more complete version of Elvis Presley's 1975 tour opener, as taken from the mixing desk. Originally released as part of the "From Vegas To Macon" set, this recording was faded out during "I'll Remember You" and there were a few tracks missing. However, these tracks WERE recorded by the sound engineer and these unreleased tracks are included here FOR THE FIRST TIME!

The April 24th tour opening show is interesting, because it's the first tour following the problematic September / October '74 tour and Elvis' subsequent hospitalization. The setlist is very interesting because it features a lot of recent material, with virtually no 'oldies'. There's 'It's Midnight' and 'Promised Land' from the December '73 STAX sessions, 'Fairytale' and 'T.R.O.U.B.L.E.' from the recent TODAY sessions, as well as a welcome return of 'You Don't Have To Say You Love Me'. Elvis sounds a bit tired here and there, but he's also full of fun. "My name is Johnny Cash ... it's a pleasure to be back here in Atlanta, uh, Macon" he jokes. It's interesting to note that 'T.R.O.U.B.L.E.' is the very first live version. Macon goes bananas for "An American Trilogy." Clearly, 1975 on tour beats strong in the heart of Georgia. This release is presented in a neat-looking digipack filled with many photographs taken during the April 24th Macon concert. Here's your chance to listen to ELVIS IN THE HEART OF GEORGIA - for the first time in complete form as originally recorded!


01. Elvis Talks - 02. Love Me - 03. If You Love Me (Let Me Know) - 04. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me - 05. Big Boss Man - 06. It's Midnight - 07. Promised Land - 08. Fairytale - 09. Burning Love - 10. Introductions by Elvis of vocalists, band - 11. What I'd Say? (James Burton) - 12. Drum solo (Ronnie Tutt) - 13. Bass solo (Jerry Scheff) - 14. Piano solo (Glen Hardin) - 15. School Day (Joe Guercio Orchestra) - 16. My Boy - 17. T-R-O-U-B-L-E - 18. I'll Remember You [now complete] - 19. Let Me Be There (with reprise) [unreleased] - 20. An American Trilogy [unreleased] - 21. Can't Help Falling In Love [unreleased] - 22. Closing vamp [unreleased].

Approx. running time: 51minutes

A complete and partially unreleased soundboard recording

Source: EC